Training a Filly

♘امیرحسین♞

♘ مدیریت انجمن اسب ایران ♞
Question
Hi - I am the owner of a two-month-old filly. I've never raised a foal before. I purchased a 13-year-old Tennessee Walker, who happened to be in foal (which I did not know and the people I purchased her from said they didn't know either). Well, now I have a foal and am slowly learning how to take care of her. She takes a halter fine, I've taught her to lead and she has just learned to tie. I can pick up her hooves and clean them with little resistance.
My question is this; what is the best method to teach her how to step over a log, timber, cavaletti, etc.? Also, am I pushing her? I've rented videos but haven't been able to find many good books about foal training. So far, I've been using the Early Learning video by Dr. Robert Miller but it doesn't carry me much further than I am right now. Since I've never done this before I want to be comfortable with her training. I would appreciate any suggestions you can offer. Thank you for your help

Answer