Massage and Saddle Fit

♘امیرحسین♞

♘ مدیریت انجمن اسب ایران ♞
This article involves two subjects that receive a lot of attention and controversy but are very important in many aspects of equine health care.

The relationship between massage and saddle fit.

Both of these are usually administered to the horse after he has become sore or has developed a problem. Being a massage therapist, I know first-hand how important alleviating pain can be and more recently I have developed the same passion in preventing it.

What do we need to look for in the horse to tell if his back is sore due to an improper saddle fit, or whether there are secondary hock issues, and possibly a training issue? The last two could take columns of their own and in future articles I will share my findings on those subjects as well.

When a therapist is called to look at a horse, the first question should be, "Has the veterinarian seen the horse for any conditions related to this issue?" If the answer is yes, we need to get a full history. If the answer is no, we need the history but also need to see the horse move in order to evaluate if the horse would be better off seeing the veterinarian first.